Introduction

Veyon is an application that allows you to map, keep track of, control, and perform various functions on a centralized computer (such as a teacher’s PC), a cluster of computers (such as classrooms or labs) and modes to use.

Program start and registration

The program is started via the start menu or an desktop icon:

../_images/desktop-symbol.png

Depending on the system configuration you will be prompted for username and password:

../_images/logon-dialog.png

Enter here your username and password or, if given, the access data of a special teacher account. If the entered data is correct and you can log in, the program starts. Otherwise, the Login is denied and an error message is displayed. You can try reentering in this case.

User Interface

After starting the program you will see User Interface with Toolbar (1), Desktop (2) and the Status Bar with various controls (3):

../_images/master-user-interface.png

The toolbar contains a number of buttons for activating various functions. A detailed description of the individual functions can be found in the chapter Program Functions. The appearance and behavior of the toolbar can be adjusted as described in the section Toolbar.

In the workspace, all computers to be observed are displayed in a Tile view. Depending on the system configuration and previous program launches, you will already see the computers of the current room here. You can use the Computer Room Management to show or hide computers or entire computer rooms.

The elements in the status bar are used to control the program interface. This allows you to enable views such as Computer Room Management or Screenshot Management. Use the slider to control the size of the displayed computer screens. An automatic adjustment to an optimal size is done by pressing the button Auto. The button About opens a dialog with information about the program, such as Version, Author and License terms.

Toolbar

You can customize the look and feel of the toolbar to your liking. With a right-click on a free area as well as a button, a context menu opens for several entries:

../_images/toolbar-contextmenu.png

If you click the entry Disable Balloon Tooltips you will no longer see any tooltips when you move the mouse over the buttons. You can open the context menu again at any time and remove the hook with a click.

The option Show Icons Only causes a compact representation of the buttons in the toolbar by hiding the labels and displaying only icons. On smaller screens, this option may be necessary to display all the buttons.

Computer Room Management

You can use the button Computer Rooms in the Status Bar to open the Computer Space Administration. This view displays all available computer rooms in a tree view. Individual room entries can be expanded by means of a usually triangular symbol.

You can activate individual computers or entire rooms by clicking on them. All activated computers are displayed in the workspace.

../_images/computer-room-management.png

With the button Save computer/user List you can save the list of computers and logged in users in a CSV file. A typical use case for this is a presence check at a later time.

Depending on the system configuration, the button Add room is also available. You can add more computer rooms to view. A click on the button opens a dialog in which you can see all available rooms:

../_images/room-selection.png

You can filter the list using the input field, that is, enter a search term. In the list then only the room names are displayed, in which the entered search term occurs. Advanced users can also use regular expressions for the filter. Then you can select a room and confirm with OK. The selected room is now available in the room list until the next program restart. You can also remove an added room by clicking on a room and pressing the Del key.

Screenshot Management

Screen Capture Management View allows you to view and delete captured screenshots. In the chapter Program Functions the function for creating a screenshot in the section: ref:` Screenshot` is explained.

../_images/screenshot-management.png

You can now select individual screenshots in the list. It will then display details about the screen shot, such as shooting date, user name, and computer in the table below. The button Show or a double-click in the list displays the selected screenshot in full size. If you no longer need the screenshot, you can permanently delete it using the Delete button. Please note that this process can not be undone and the files are not moved to the trash.